Writing Challenges

With writing, it’s really easy to “forget” or “run out of time” to write.  Sometimes, when you come back, it’s good, because there are a ton of ideas and plenty of energy.  Most times, it’s bad.  The gears are rusted and the creative valve tightly closed.

To avoid the latter, one of my best friends and I have agreed to do one writing challenge a month, not including November for NaNoWriMo and July for Camp NaNoWriMo.  We take turns picking the project for each month.  So, starting in December, we began challenging each other and ourselves.

Since we were both worn out from NaNoWriMo, I decided one-shots were the way to go.  1,500 words each, one a week, for a total of four short stories.  But, to make it fun and to motivate us, I decided to make it fun.  Each time we wrote our 1,500 words, we left it hanging and sent it to the other person for them to finish.  Also 1,500 words.  No more, no less.  That would make every story 3,000 words.  Only 12,000 words the whole month for each of us.  Easy, right?

Well… Neither of us completed the challenge.  We both still intend to, but we just haven’t yet.

Okay, whatever, maybe short stories wasn’t the way to go after writing a novel.  Moving on to January.  It was my friend’s turn to pick a challenge.

She went with world-building, which I thought was cool.  I’d always intended on building a world, but I’d never gotten around to it.  Perfect!  I’ll keep this stored away for future books.

Well, we’re 21 days in and neither of us have much on the page.  We both have a basic idea of what we’re doing, but we just haven’t written it down.

I’m just gonna blame school and my inability to concentrate.  But I will eventually finish both challenges.

This is the Raven, off in search of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

