NaNoWriMo 2015: Won!

Today I have accomplished the almost-impossible.  Something I’ve seen so many people start and give up after a few days.  Something that gets me surprised and impressed looks wherever I go (provided the topic comes up).

Yes, that’s right.  Today I won NaNoWriMo 2015.  And I’m pretty much brain dead.  I’m also only about two thirds of the way through my book, give or take.  But I don’t want to talk about that.  I’m too tired.

Instead, I’m going to talk about one of the very common situations writers go through, regardless of what month it is.  Mostly for me, though, during November.  Ready?

9 Annoying Questions People Who Aren’t Writers Ask Writers:

1. So what’s your story about?
A question I get tired of answering over and over again.  My answer?  Well, this year, I just stuck with “Oh, it’s another futuristic novel.  One about mutant cyborgs fighting.”  People find that answer vague, boring, and so random normally all they do after that is slowly nod their head a couple times before abandoning the topic.  Thank you.

2. Am I in your story?/ Can you put me in your story?
No, you’re not, and no I won’t, because you’re annoying and won’t leave me alone about it.  You really want me to put you in there?  I’ve been needing a good bloody death popped in.  Stop asking me this over and over again.

3. How’s it coming along?
The answer is either “Great!” or “Ugh.”  There is no in-between.  Chances are I don’t want to talk about it.  If I’d wanted to, I would have brought it up first.

4. Did you include (insert whatever was done that day in real life) in your story?
Probably not.  It doesn’t fit.  You want it in the story?  Become a writer and put it in yourself.

5. Where do you get your inspiration?
Not one of the most annoying, but it’s complicated and difficult to answer.  I recently told someone who asked me this a very simple and blunt “My head usually.”  But honestly, it’s hard to keep track of stuff like that all the time.

6.  So you’re planning on being a writer when you grow up?
Usually followed up by a hurried “Well, I mean, you already are a writer.”  Again not one of the most annoying, but it can be irritating.  What, you think I’ve got two printed novels and three more in the works just for fun?  Nuh uh.

7. *Startled gasp* You killed someone in your book?! That’s terrible!
No, it’s exciting and makes for a better read.  Chill out.

8. Do you think you’ll turn this into a series?
I don’t know, I’m stressed out as it is without thinking of more books down the line.

9. I’ve done some writing too, you know.  Just a little here and there for fun.
Oh, that’s nice.  Buckle in for a full blown novel and then come talk to me.  Not the most common, but it happens.

These are just some of them, and I think most writers would probably agree with me on these.  I hate questions like these from non-writers.  Writers don’t ask other writers these, and when/if they do (only a couple of these are ever asked by other writers) they ask it in a different way, like they actually want to know, writer-to-writer kind of way.

So if you know a writer, use this list and never ask these questions.  Please, for the sakes of both parties.

This is The Raven, off in search of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

