NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 2015 is well underway, and this is my first post during the event.  I would have posted sooner, but, y’know, writing…

So far I’d say it’s been mostly okay.  I really disliked my characters at first, but when I finally got them developed the way I needed them, I started to like them again.  Most of my books and stories up to this point have been pretty action-packed with lots of fighting and twists.  So far this one has been mellow compared to my others.  I think it’s an  interesting story, just not a riveting one.  Hopefully I can change that.

My story this time is focused a little more on morals, mostly doing the right thing in a world where doing the wrong thing is the norm.  I don’t think I can wrap up this story satisfactorily in one books, so somewhere down the line I may end up doing a sequel, or even a trilogy!  Trilogies are all the rage nowadays.

However, I do think my description has been much better this time around.  My last book I wrote from first person, and my character’s personality isn’t one to go into detail about things.  I mean, c’mon, can you imagine reading something like this:

“I looked out across the fields of gold, the individual strands waving in the wind in perfect unison.  The sunlight hit them perfectly, illuminating each head of grain in a beautiful halo.”

Not the greatest, I realize.  I only wrote this just now off the top of my head, gimme a break.

But really, this is supposed to be coming from a hardened gang leader, and describing a field like that when it can simply be put as “a field of yellow wheat”?  Ain’t nobody got time for that.

This one I can enjoy a little more freedom when it comes to description.  I also am not restraining myself to one character’s experiences.  I’m branching out and focusing on different characters as the opportunity presents itself.  I guess we’ll see if that helps me or hurts me in the end.

Hopefully I can put a little more action into my story now.  I’m rethinking my ending, like adding something at the end so that my original ending is not actually my ending.  If that makes sense.  Anyway, we’ll see how that goes.  For now, I have to get back to writing.  I’m closing in on 30,000 words!

Off in search of Inspiration,
The Raven

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015

    • I am a writer, good sir, and I have no time for colloquial language used by the common man. In order to get ahead, I must also rise above. I apologize if this use of correct grammar where incorrect grammar was originally used is such an incredible insult to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

