Poetry: Take 2

Alright, now for my second stab at poetry.

This past week we began to learn about rhythm.  We were required to brainstorm words to describe a rainstorm and put them in a short poem with alternating four and three syllables each line.  Here is what I came up with:

Blustering winds
Stormy skies
Clapping thunder
Safe inside

Yes, I did only use two words per line again.  But I used slightly bigger words, and it was difficult doing more than two words a line with the limited number of syllables for each line.

Next, we did some ‘haiku’ poems.  For those who don’t know, a haiku poem is a short, three line poem generally about nature.  The last line is supposed to contrast to the first two lines.  Some haikus look like this one by an Unknown:

Years may come and go
but our friends and memories…
what was I saying?

Funny, right?  I don’t have the experience to master this, but I do think I did at least one good one out of the three we were supposed to do:

Buttercups are out
Mixed with the tall grass growing
Start the lawn mower!

The waves are lapping
On the shore at my cold toes
Run away quickly!

Falling so very far
Farther and farther I fall
Until, I wake up

The first one is my favorite, I think.  The other two are not my best pieces of writing.  But still remember, this is only my second week of really studying poetry, and the first week I’ve ever done haikus.

The last section for the weeks assignment was to write a poem with a bit of personification in it.  I did some looking online to find examples, and really liked this one:

Winter by Maurice Yvonne

With his icy fingers he stole my smokey breath,
laid a sheet of slippery freezing cold by my feet
and then whispered in my ear right to the drum
that echoed in my brain with excruciating pain.

She, his wife was of a complete different temperament
quietly without fuss she crafted blanched cotton flakes,
each a masterpiece, unique as if she retained every design
she had ever imagined so each time she could create anew.

He however with his bravado with his swelled chest
would pepper speeding glass-like pellets into the air.
Sting our faces without regret. Salt our wounds.
Mercilessly bite into our flesh with his frosted fangs.

Daintily she’d sprinkle the sky with the magic of her cheer
feather the atmosphere in a delicate splatter of alabaster.
Layer by layer she laid soft sheets of snow to the delight
of everyone alike creating a playground of endless mirth.

His breath reeked of dreams frozen, nipped in the bud.
Already he had high jacked his sisters, the Autumn twins
sent them packing, hurried, gathering their rustic garments.
He had no love of his siblings except his baby sister, Spring.

His wife loving and caring would temper his yearly onslaught.
She knew of his pain, deep, abandoned by his father Summer.
At times she’d blow slightly warmer air to provide respite for
us mere humans and allow the sun to warm our weary bones.

They  would sit together and it was her would bring out
the albums of family photos view pictures of his mother.
Her smile like music would soothe his stone cold heart.
He loved, when she’d visit in the guise of an Indian Summer.

With his icy fingers he stole my smokey breath.
I felt her presence there to temper his harsh avail.

Winter had arrived but when they walked as one 
this magnificent couple dressed in their royal winter whites,
without a second thought you  would bow in front of their regal
stance, a sight to behold, one that encompassed the entire land.

“This whole poem is personification.  It is really interesting how the author bound all the seasons together as one big family, with the different parts of the season, like the harshness of winter versus the gentle beauty of it being married.  The imagery is really quite excellent, and there are a few surprises along the way, like how the author tells us Spring is Winter’s little sister, and how she is the only one he has a soft spot for, which is completely believable since winter is indeed followed by spring.”

The above italicized words in quotes is my analysis of the poem that I was also required to turn in.  Just a reminder, that is not my poem.  My personification poem is below:

The Sun rises into the sky,
Warming the cold ground with her tender fingers.
The flowers look heavenward,
Uncovering their bright, curious eyes to peer at their surroundings.
The Sky, his robe a vivid light blue,
Laughs heartily as he prepares his daily batch of clouds
Today, he decides, they will be light and fluffy.
The leaves, freed from their icy containment of Winter’s fall,
Playfully chase each other across the thawing ground.
For Spring has come, and the Earth is awakening.

This is, in my opinion, the best one out of the entire assignment done by yours truly.  I didn’t have to do any sort of rhyme scheme or meter, so this freestyle was relatively easy, since all I really had to do was come up with an idea and lots of imagery.

And that concludes Poetry Week Two, guys!  I’ll be back in a week with some more.

This is The Raven, off in search of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

