The Need for a Notebook

Hey, I know it’s been a while, I’ve had a crazy past several weeks.  Soon after my last post, we went skiing for a week in New Hampshire.  Then we went straight from New Hampshire to Virginia for about a week for a sort of extended field trip to Jamestown and Williamsburg.  Then, when we got back, I had a birthday party, and that week we had to work on school, then that weekend I went to my friend’s birthday party… And you get the idea.

I can’t tell you how many bursts of inspiration I had during those past few weeks that I have now forgotten.  I’ve read so many books that have some character who always carries around a notebook for some various purpose.  The only reason I haven’t really done that is because I can’t be bothered with having a notebook tucked under my arm or even a small one crammed in my pocket everywhere I go, and I lose my pens and pencils, too.

I do have a notebook, though.  I’ve mentioned it a few times before.  I write a ton of stuff in that.  I just don’t carry it around with me all the time.  I have several notebooks, actually.  Some of them are intended to be a whole novel-length, several are failed journals, and quite a few are from my childhood, when I drew more than I wrote.  Thank God I chose writing over drawing.

There have been times when I’ve grabbed a stray envelope or scrap of paper and scrawl out a quick idea I was suddenly struck with, and that helps me remember it later.  I just need to remember it put it in my notebook later… Which I rarely do.

I think what I need to do it just buy a bunch of little notebooks.  You know, the little spiral ones that fit easily in a purse or bag. Then I need to distribute them in various places.  My purse, the car, between the mattresses, my school desk, my jacket pocket.  That would be helpful, and I could just borrow a pen from someone whenever an inspiration struck me.

Yes, I need to do this.

Since I’ve been gone for forever, I haven’t had much of a chance to do a lot of writing.  Well, that’s not exactly true.  I had plenty of time during the long car rides, I just chose to read and watch Pride and Prejudice instead.  So my creative juices have been rather stagnant lately.  I should do some brainstorming and writing this weekend, both on my laptop and my precious notebooks.  I think I’d feel better.

What about you?  Do you have a notebook?  Do you carry a notebook around?  What helps you to remember your random inspirations?

This is The Raven, off in search of Inspiration

Leave a Reply

