Feeling the Urge

Last night I went to my Youth Group.  We were a small assembly for once, and after a game and a half-hearted singing session, our Leader handed out our notebooks with pencils.  We’re supposed to write notes on the lesson in the notebooks, but I had lately been doing a lot of writing in my own notebooks at home.  Fiction writing.  Let me tell you, forcing myself not to flip to the back of the book and scribble down some weird one-shot was much harder than you’d think.  When I received my book and flipped it open to a clean page for note-taking, I felt as though my nerves were on fire, begging me to write.  Luckily, I was able to contain myself until the opportunity arose for me to write notes.  It was instant relief, and I felt less of an urge to write a one-shot.  Of course, that didn’t stop me from pulling out my favorite notebook when I got home and writing for as long as I could before my mom insisted I turn out the light.

I would share with you what I wrote, but it’s not finished.  I will tell you what I was writing about, however.  I recently watched the Disney movie ‘Maleficent’.  I enjoyed the movie probably more than I should have, considering the reviews. But something about it (probably Diaval and Maleficent) just made me feel incredibly inspired.  So, I was writing a short fan-fiction.  Don’t worry, I won’t be posting a lot of fan-fiction, and when I do, I’ll make sure to have a disclaimer.  Today, however, I will give you a peek into my notebook.  Below are a few of my (really short) one-shots taken from my notebook.  Chances are, if you stick around here, you’ll be hearing a lot about it.  All are original work, and no fan-fiction (I’ll save that for a later date).  Please note that some of these are quite old, and I will be doing none to very little editing of them at this time (that, too, will be saved for a separate post).

Screams resounded off the stone walls.  Women, men, children, and maybe a newborn.  I paused, listening, mid-step.  Around me, my small group of survivors froze, too.  I stared back down the narrow tunnel, eyes straining to see in the darkness.  There were no footsteps, so I grasped the shoulders of the two nearest to me, whispering, “Go, go!” with great urgency.  They stumbled forwards as if startled.  I followed behind my group of ten or fifteen out of three hundred, urging forwards those who straggled.

(The one above I think could be made into some great story with the correct planning.  I’ll probably tinker with it some more.)

I stared at him, my mouth hanging open in shock.  He must of realized he had hurt me, because his eyes widened and his hand stretched out to me.  I shook my head, my long hair brushing my tears on my cheeks.  I took a step back, and his lips began to form my name.  I shook my head again.  “No!” I cried.  The single work echoed across the surrounding hills.  His eyes showed deep pain, but I was too deeply hurt myself to care.  He tried again, but this time I turned and ran off, struggling to see though my tears.  The long grass grabbed at my bare legs, and I fell.  I scrambled to my feet and ran over the last hills.  Never once did I look back.  I never look back.

(I feel like the above was taken from the middle of a book.  I’m not very good at writing romance, so maybe at some later point I’ll start playing with it and really flesh it out.  I also feel like if this was ever filmed for a movie, it would be done in slow motion.)

Stars.
Distant.  Beautiful.  Cold.  Source of mystery.  Wondered upon.  Wished upon.  Dangerous.  Twinkle.  Romantic.  Diamonds.
Stars

(This one I did a few weeks ago.  I’m not entirely sure what I think of it, but ‘Twinkle’ definitely disrupted the pattern, and I think ‘Romantic’ wasn’t doing it any favors, either.  I left them in because who hasn’t heard that stars “twinkle”?  And don’t guys tell their girlfriends that their eyes sparkle like stars?  Okay, I honestly wouldn’t know at that last one, because I’ve never had a boyfriend or been around any of my friend’s boyfriends, but that’s what I assume they say.  But I also like part of it, like the ‘Source of mystery’ piece.  I do like writing little stuff like this, picking a topic and then listing a bunch of adjectives afterwards.)

Yeah, that’s the kind of stuff that goes down in my notebook.  Generally darker, more dramatic pieces that happen when I’m in a bad mood.  I just don’t do well with happy stuff.  It always comes out feeling really cheesy and unnatural.  Maybe I’ll try something with a lighter tone soon.  I’ll make it my challenge. 😉

This is The Raven, off in search of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

