Starting Up

Wow. My first blog. My first post, My first impression.

And I really don’t know what to say.

I’ve really worked out my brain getting excited about making this blog, so my creative juices are a little slow-moving at the moment. I guess this counts as writers block. 🙂 I’m sure all you fellow writers out there know the feeling. So instead of posting some of my fresh-out-of-the-oven one-shots, I’m going to tell you instead of a wonderful program I am a member of. Don’t worry, it’s all about writing.

It’s called NaNoWriMo, short for National Novel Writing Month. During the month of November, thousands of people work to write an entire novel. The adults have to write a total of 50,000 words, while those enlisted in the Young Writers Program (YWP), may choose whatever word count goal they wish. I am a member of both, and in 2014 I wrote about 52,000 words.

I wrote a futuristic novel, in first person. I don’t write much in first person. Well, that’s a lie, actually. I write a great deal of my one-shots in first person. But they’re one-shots, not full-length novels, which is what this one is. In the end, I ended up switching from first to third person in order to incorporate as much action as I could. I’m glad I did, since it added both length (hopefully a good length) and interest. I was also able to incorporate multiple characters, and though they admittedly made a short appearance, it was still fun to explore a little of their own experiences and personalities. The first person was in the perspective of my main character, who’s name is Scarless. He is the leader of one of the gangs in the future world. Here is the plot summary I posted on my NaNoWriMo page…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The year is 2232, and it is like nothing you could have imagined. For close to a hundred years us teens have held all control over the world. Or at least, that’s what we think.

But let me back up.

From what I’ve learned, about a hundred years ago adults were trying to create a serum to make the human race stronger. Six different labs were located in what used to be the U.S., but one day a terrible mistake was made. The serum was completed in one of the labs, and they decided that instead of justing sending data, they would send a massive batch of the stuff. Well, a careless scientist somehow messed everything up. We don’t know the details. All we know is that the lab exploded, released what should have been a cure to all our health problems into the atmosphere. Instead, it was a deadly gas that killed or weakened all adults. The funny thing is, those of us twenty-five years or younger are immune to it. It actually works the way it’s supposed to work on us, making us faster, stronger, and smarter. We have taken over the labs, five gangs for five remaining labs.

I’m Scarless, and I lead the Hidden Snakes.

I thought my position was secure, I thought I would continue to lead until the virus killed or weakened me. And I was fine with it.

But one of my men wasn’t. He wanted to live. So, instead of trying to discuss things with me, he tricked me and kicked me out of my own gang. He’s going to bring in some remaining adults and try to find a cure, and everyone will be happy, right?

Wrong.

After retreating to a bordering Gang’s HQ, I discovered what the adults plan on doing if they succeed.

And it’s not good.

So now I’m rushing around, staying hidden in the shadows, trying to find a way to stop it.

And right now, I’m loosing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, what do you think? Sounds dramatic, right? I hate it when the summary is better than the actual story. But that’s one of the insecurities of a writer; we’re always afraid we’re not actually writers, just fakers who can’t write a full-length novel. Even when we receive a Newberry Honor award, we still worry that we aren’t as good as people say. But people’s support is what keeps us going. At least, that’s what keeps me going. 😉

This is the Raven, off in search of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

